Barb Jungr – Hard Rain [TrackList follows] – Kristalyn Records

by | May 29, 2014 | Pop/Rock/World CD Reviews

Barb Jungr – Hard Rain [TrackList follows] – Kristalyn Records KLCD1, 66’ [2014] Absolute ****:

(Barb Jungr – vocals; Gary Hammond – percussion; Neville Malcolm – bass; Steve Watts – bass on tracks 1, 3, 8 & 10; Clive Bell – Shakuhachi; Richard Oletunde Baker – talking drum & percussion; Simon Wallace – piano, B-3 & synthesizers)

Barb Jungr is a lounge goddess!  Her latest release, Hard Rain: The Songs of Bob Dylan & Leonard Cohen proves, furthermore, the power of song.  Choosing songs from a massive catalog of music, (six Dylan and five Cohen), Jungr snatches the political, rebel-rousing, love destruction and carefully worded tracks that made Dylan and Cohen household names world wide.

Sure, these songs have been covered countless times before but Barb Jungr gives each of these songs a new feel.  The feeling of freedom, of expression, compassion, love and endearment.

The entire album is a highlight, but to point out a few delicious tracks: “Who By Fire,” “Hard Rain” and “Chimes of Freedom” are my top picks.  All three exhibit the wonderfully-toned voice that Jungr has used to excel throughout her career.

Tell me, where have you been, my darling young one?


1. Blowin’ In The Wind (Bob Dylan)
2. Everybody Knows (Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson)
3. Who By Fire (Leonard Cohen)
4. Hard Rain (Bob Dylan)
5. First We Take Manhattan (Leonard Cohen)
6. Masters Of War (Bob Dylan)
7. It’s Alright Ma (Bob Dylan)
8. 1000 Kisses Deep (Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson)
9. Gotta Serve Somebody (Bob Dylan)
10. Land Of Plenty (Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson)
11. Chimes Of Freedom (Bob Dylan)

—Paul Pelon IV


Related Reviews
Logo Pure Pleasure
Logo Apollo's Fire
Logo Crystal Records Sidebar 300 ms
Logo Jazz Detective Deep Digs Animated 01