Bill Henderson – Beautiful Memory – Ahuh Productions

by | Sep 9, 2010 | Jazz CD Reviews | 0 comments

Bill Henderson – Beautiful Memory – Ahuh Productions AP 1001, 54:03 *****:

(Bill Henderson – vocals; Tateng Katindig – keyboards; Chris Conner – bass; Roy McCurdy – drums)

Beautiful Memory is a wonderful live performance which occurred on March 22, 2007 at “The Vic”, an intimate jazz club in Santa Monica, California. The album is presented as a Special Limited Edition Historical Album.  Bill Henderson is a man of many talents in motion pictures, television and a great jazz vocalist.  This is a memorable celebration of his Golden Anniversary as a recording artist and an excellent example of entertaining and connecting with his audience.

Bill is backed by well known keyboard artist Tateng Katindig who performs in many of the popular jazz venues in Los Angeles.  Chris Conner, another known artist in Southern California is on bass.  Roy McCurdy is a consummate drummer with an extensive history performing with many of the Jazz greats throughout the years.

Bill has an intimacy in his singing that puts you in the mood of a personal conversation between you and him.  He has a wonderful baritone voice with a friendly sound and his phrasing and slight vibrato is outstanding.

Sometimes it is difficult to listen through a whole album without getting a little bored.  Not so with Beautiful Memory.  It will catch your attention from “All The Things You Are” through “Tulip Or Turnip”.  Each track seems to vary in rhythm and styles.  “You Are My Sunshine”, an old pop song that was number one on Bill Board’s chart in 1941 has a new arrangement this time from Bill and Tateng that swings. Tateng’s touch on the keyboards really stands out on this track.  “Sleepin’ Bee” is a nice ballad song so expressive in Bill’s capable hands.  The other standards on the album such as “Old Black Magic” and “Tulip or Turnip” has such a magic touch as indicated by the audience response.

The sound quality of the recording is very good.  Sound levels are proper, with the vocals being up front and the trio well-balanced.  No one drowns out the other – a testament to the skills of Walter New who did the editing, mixing and mastering.  The liner notes are elegant and informative.


1.   All the things you are

2.   Never make your move
3.   You are my sunshine
4.   Royal garden blues
5.   Sleepin’ bee
6.   The moon was yellow
7.   Sorry seems to be the hardest word
8.   The song is you
9.   Old black magic
10. Never kiss and run
11. Living without you
12. Tulip or turnip

— Tim Taylor

Related Reviews
Logo Jazz Detective Deep Digs Animated 01
Logo Pure Pleasure