LUDOVICO EINAUDI: In a Time Lapse [TrackList follows] – Ludovico Einaudi, piano & guitar/var. performers – Ponderosa Music/ Universal Italy (Distr. by Harmonia mundi) ****:

This CD came out in 2013 so I am not sure why we just received it but here it is. Each of the 14 tracks has a different backing – sometimes as basic as Einaudi’s piano and other times involving a dozen various performers plus a contemporary music ensemble.  The Orchestra I Virtuosi Italiani is also heard on some tracks, and Alberto Fabris gets occasional credit for Reverb. The penultimate track of the album is just violinist Daniel Hope and Einaudi at the piano.

This CD is certainly more along the usual Einaudi style vs. the recent Taranta Project.  His music is usually ambient, meditative and introspective, using both pop music and minimalism.


1. Corale
2. Time Lapse
3. Life
4. Walk
5. Discovery at Night
6. Run
7. Brothers
8. Orbits
9. Two Trees
10. Newton’s Cradle
11. Waterways
12. Experience
13. Underwood
14. Burning

—John Sunier