Orquestango [TrackList follows] – Binelli-Ferman Duo (bandoneon & piano)/ Montevideo Philharmonic/ Federico Garcia Vigil – 4Tay CD-4039, 59:06 [6/10/14) [Distr. by Albany] ****:

Tango Organtino – Rhythm and Groove for Organ [TrackList follows] – Martin Heini, organ – Guild GMCD 7401, 70:53 (6/10/14) [Distr. by Albany] ****:

The first of these two CDs presents two performers originally from Uruguay who have formed a duo of bandoneon and piano to perform tango and other Latin American musical forms. Daniel Binelli was a bandoneonist in Astor Piazzola’s New Tango Sextet from 1989, and both musicians have played with symphony orchestras around the world, both individually and as a duo. Pianist Polly Ferman interprets music of the Americas and has made many recordings of Latin American piano music. Binelli did most of the nine arrangements for this album with the Montevideo Philharmonic, and has also arranged and composed music of many varieties. Three of the tracks on this CD are his own works, and there are two Piazzolla sections, including a lovely arrangement of his masterful “Oblivion.”


1. A Fuego Lento- Horacio Salgan
2. Milonga Casi Candombe – Horacio Salgan
3. A Don Agustín Bardi- Horacio Salgan
4. Preludio y Candombe – Daniel Binelli
5. Metrópolis – Daniel Binelli
6. Imágenes de Buenos Aires – Daniel Binelli
7. Oblivión – Astor Piazzolla
8. Tres Tangos Sinfónicos- Astor Piazzolla
9. Alfonsina y el Mar – Ariel Ramires




I don’t know of any other albums which have brought together the pipe organ and tango music, but this one is not all tangos. It is rather a collection of lighter music for the organ, which grew out of a movement which began in German-speaking Europe, of recently-composed lighter organ music intended to be enjoyed for its own sake. The first four pieces, for example, come from a professor of jazz at a conservatory in France. Numbers two thru four are all based on the famous musical signature of Shostakovich: DSCH, and the last one is a tango. Fiesta is a world premiere recording, and part of a collection of 22 short organ works by female composers.

Julien Bret is an organist at a Catholic church near Rouen, and has written both more serious works and light music such as these three selections. The Waltz of the Angels is from a collection The Organ and the Dance, the Round de Lutins uses quotes from Popeye and circus music, and The Waltz of Doves title comes from a well-known Chilean children’s story. Mozart is the starting point for the short piece by Zsolt Gardonyi, which uses a theme from the finale of the composer’s D Major Piano Sonata, and gets a bit jazzy towards the end. The four pieces by Michael Schütz come from a collection of 20 which is well-known by organists worldwide.They make use of a variety of registrations and their light and contemporary natures is shown by their titles: “Welcome!, Keep Cool, Impressions,” and “Straight Ahead.” English church choral music composer John Rutter is represented by a short “Toccata in Seven,” which is in 7/8 meter and an exciting journey. A delightful listen even if not all tangos. This album will certainly not fit the taste of organ music detractors who say the sound only reminds them of churches and funerals.


01. “Rumba sur les grands-jeux”
Piéces pour grand-orgue sur DSCH Nr. 1-3
02. “Nr. 1 Paso-Doble”
03. “Nr. 2 Passacaille”
04. “Nr. 3 Tango”
05. “Florinda”
06. “Fiesta”
07. “La valse des anges”
08. “La ronde des lutins”
09. “La valse des colombes”
10. “Mozart Changes”
Songs of praise (Auszug)
11. “Toccata für Orgel”
Pop organ pieces Nr. 1-20 (Auszug)
12. “Welcome!”
13. “Keep Cool”
14. “Impressions”
15. “Straight Ahead”
16. “Toccata in Seven”
Jazz Preludes Nr. 1-3
17. “Nr. 1 Swing Five”
18. “Nr. 2 Bossa Nova”
19. “Nr. 3 Afro-Cubab” 

—John Sunier