The David Hazeltine Trio – The Jobim Songbook in New York – Chesky Records

by | Jul 3, 2008 | SACD & Other Hi-Res Reviews | 0 comments

The David Hazeltine Trio – The Jobim Songbook in New York – Chesky Records Multichannel SACD 328, 1 hour ****:

(David Hazeltine, piano; Nat Reeves, bass; Joe Farnsworth, drums)

Pianist Hazeltine keeps busy performing and recording in New York City, comes from with both classical and jazz chops, and according to the liner notes “seems never to have met a song he couldn’t rearrange.”  That’s what he did here with 11 songs by Brazilian  master composer Antonio Carlos Jobim.  Hazeltine says he practiced Bach, Chopin and Ravel to get a fresh outlook on making the Jobim arrangements.  They are varied, clever, and imbued with the spirit of the blues and bebop as well as the samba culture of Rio. This is a most welcome instrumental entry in the recent rediscovery of the original bossa nova by jazz performers.

Sonics are very natural and spacious, with the piano on the left, the drums to the right and the doublebass in between.  The venue was against a NYC church where Chesky has found the acoustics just right and the reverb more natural than any digital processors could accomplish. The basic pickup is not with a forest of mikes but a single Soundfield Mark 5 surround mike system.  I see this SACD was released over a year ago; don’t know why it was just sent to us now, but late or not we’re pleased to have it!

1. Dreamer
2. Once I Loved
3. Meditation
4. Quiet Nights
5. Dindi
6. Wave
7. One Note Samba
8. Desafinado
9. Caminhos Cruzados
10. O Grande Amor
11. Girl from Ipanema

 – John Henry

Related Reviews
Logo Pure Pleasure
Logo Crystal Records Sidebar 300 ms
Logo Jazz Detective Deep Digs Animated 01