Come Together – A Night for John Lennon’s Words & Music (2008)

by | Dec 1, 2008 | DVD & Blu-ray Video Reviews | 0 comments

Come Together – A Night for John Lennon’s Words & Music (2008)

“Dedicated to New York City and its People”
Host: Kevin Spacey; Guest Stars: Kevin Bacon, Steve Buscemi, James Gandolfini, Dustin Hoffman, Yoko Ono, Tim Roth, Ben Stiller
Performers include: Dave Matthews, Bill Preston, Stone Temple Pilots, Alanis Morissette, Moby, Sean Lennon, Rufus Wainwright, Cyndi Lauper, Shelby Lynne, Dave Stewart, Lou Reed, Natalie Merchant, Kevin Spacey, Craig David & others
Studio: Greatest Hits Love/Eagle Rock Entertainment GHL 37049-9 [Release date: Dec. 1, 08]
Video: 4:3 color
Audio: English DD 5.1, 2.0
Length: 90 minutes
Rating: *****

This is the entire tribute concert that was staged in NYC on October 2, 2001 and telecast on the WB Network and Turner TV.   The idea was to bring people together after the tragedy of 9/11; all proceeds of the event went to healing efforts for New York City.  Produced by Yoko Ono and with some affecting performances by her son Sean, the focus of the tribute was the words and music of John Lennon which spoke to a vision of world peace and understanding. Critics seemed to feel it was the best and most earnest of the performance responses to 9/11. (Though it was odd neither McCartney nor Ringo were present.)

A large screen behind the performers carried images of John and Yoko and Sean and various of his drawings.  Excerpts from some of his interviews were also used. The pacing moved along well and the comments by the various celebrities were to the point and not overdone. Spacey was a fine host and not a bad singer either. Some of the song highlights for me were Alanis Morissette doing Dear Prudence and Natalie Merchant’s Nowhere Man. Though there were also some duds – Lou Reed for example.  The entire ensemble came together at the conclusion to sing Give Peace a Chance and Power to the People.  Though no 16:9 format, the images were of highest quality and the surround sound was excellent.


1. Imagine (Yolanda Adams and Billy Preston)
2. In My Life (Dave Matthews)
3. Revolution (Stone Temple Pilots)
4. Dear Prudence (Alanis Morissette)
5. Across the Universe (Moby, Sean Lennon, Rufus Wainwright)
6. Strawberry Fields Forever (Cyndi Lauper)
7. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (Marc Anthony)
8. Mother (Shelby Lynne)
9. Instant Karma (Nelly Furtado and Dave Stewart)
10. Jealous Guy (Lou Reed)
11. Nowhere Man (Natalie Merchant)
12. Mind Games (Kevin Spacey)
13. Come Together (Craig David)
14. This Boy (Sean Lennon and Rufus Wainwright)
15. Julia (Sean Lennon)
16. Give Peace a Chance/Power to the People (Ensemble)

 – John Henry

Related Reviews
Logo Pure Pleasure
Logo Jazz Detective Deep Digs Animated 01