Mel Tormé Sings for Lovers – Concord Jazz

by | Apr 17, 2008 | Jazz CD Reviews | 0 comments

Mel Tormé Sings for Lovers – Concord Jazz CCD-30628 ****:

This terrific compilation is part of a “For Lovers” series Concord has just brought out, which includes similar albums featuring Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Stan Getz, Chet Baker, Bill Evans, Dave Brubeck, West Montgomery and others. In this one you get 13 great tracks from the Velvet Fog, with such collaborators as Marty Paich, Rob McConnell, George Shearing, Alan Broadbent, and something called The Great American Songbook Orchestra.  The recording dates range from 1982 to 1996 and the variety of settings brings a multifaceted quality to the album.  Tormé’s was a really unique voice and delivery that we’ll never forget.

    •    1. The Song Is You   
    •    2. The Way You Look Tonight   
    •    3. Nobody Else But Me   
    •    4. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To   
    •    5. Love Walked In   
    •    6. I Get A Kick Out Of You   
    •    7. I’m Glad There Is You   
    •    8. A Lovely Way to Spend an Evening   
    •    9. More Than You Know   
    •    10. Moonlight Becomes You   
    •    11. My Foolish Heart   
    •    12. Stairway To The Stars (Live – Edit)   
    •    13. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye (Live – Edit)

 — John Henry


Related Reviews