Sinatra/Jobim – The Complete Reprise Recordings – Concord Music Roger Davidson Quintet – Brazilian Love Song (30 Years of Brazilian Music) – Soundbrush

by | Dec 16, 2010 | Jazz CD Reviews | 0 comments

Sinatra/Jobim – The Complete Reprise Recordings – Concord Music CRE-32026 *****:
(with vocal support by Antonio Carlos Jobim – tracks 1-10; arr. & cond. by Claus Ogerman; tracks 11-20 arr. by Eumir Deodato & cond. by Morris Stoloff)
Roger Davidson Quintet – Brazilian Love Song (30 Years of Brazilian Music) – Soundbrush SR 1018, 67:37 [Distr. by Allegro] *****:
(Roger Davidson, pianist & composer; Paulo Braga, drums; David Finck, bass; Aaron Heick, sax; Marivaldo dos Santos, percussion; Produced by Pablo Aslan)
What a terrific couple of CDs of infectious Brazilian songs! The Frank Sinatra originals came out on two LPs – the first in 1967 and the later in 1969. Sinatra toned down his usual Live At the Sands style for a super-soft and intimate bossanova vocal sound in keeping with that of Jobim and his sensitive songs. Ogerman is one of the great arrangers and composers, and his string-heavy settings for Sinatra and Jobim are completely different from the usual Sinatra backing from Nelson Riddle and other bands. Sinatra said “I haven’t sung so soft since I had laryngitis,” but it makes for one of his most emjoyable albums.  Great to have it again. And Jobim may be soft too, but at least he doesn’t sing off key as Astrud Gilberto did.
The remastering is excellent – these tracks could have been recorded last week. For some reason at the last minute Sinatra had called the Warner studio demanding they “kill the album.”  A rare eight-track of the album which had already slipped out commanded $5000 in 2005. Seven of the nine tracks were eventually released on “Sinatra & Company” in 1971.
The Brazilian Songs CD was recorded in NYC last year, but it could have been done in Rio, with Argentine tango virtuoso Pablo Aslan producing it.  It’s another great jazz session by performers imbued with the exciting bossa nova Brazilian sound.  Most of the 18 tracks here will be less than familiar to most listeners, which also adds interest.  I was taken back listening to this to the very earliest bossa nova jazz LPs from American performers – the Laurindo Almeida/Bud Shank session and of course the Charlie Byrd/Stan Getz ones.

TrackList (Sinatra/Jobim):

1. The Girl From Ipanema 3:20
2. Dindi 3:31
3. Change Partners 2:43
4. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado) 2:45
5. Meditation (Meditação) 2:55
6. If You Never Come To Me (Inútil Paisagen) 2:11
7. How Insensitive (Insensatez) 3:18
8. I Concentrate On You 2:39
9. Baubles, Bangles And Beads 2:36
10. Once I Loved (O Amor en Paz) 2:38
11. The Song Of The Sabia 3:39
12. Drinking Water (Aqua de Beber) 2:35
13. Someone To Light Up My Life 2:37
14. Triste 2:41
15. This Happy Madness (Estrada Branca) 2:57
16. One Note Samba (Samba de Uma Nota So) 2:21
17. Don’t Ever Go Away (Por Causa de Voce) 2:28
18. Wave 3:21
19. Off Key (Desafinado) 3:09
20. Bonita 3:40
TrackList (Brazilian Love Song):
1        Brazilian Love Song        3:29
2        Calor do Coraçao        2:26
3        Ritmo das Flores        2:38
4        O Jogo        2:27
5        Samba da Sarah        3:35
6        Longing for You        4:27
7        Forgiveness        1:48
8        Saudade de um Amor        4:36
9         Dream        4:07
10        Deep Red Roses        4:50
11        In a Garden of Orchids        3:41
12        Prayer for the World        4:04
13        The Beach        3:58
14        Sonhos Verdadeiros        3:09
15        Now I See Your Heart        3:04
16        Blue Samba        3:26
17        Esperança        2:27
18        Sua Dança  4:15
— John Henry

Related Reviews
Logo Pure Pleasure
Logo Jazz Detective Deep Digs Animated 01